top of page

OUR WAIHEKE KOMBUCHA RECIPE


Thank you dad

Our Kombucha Journey

Written by Gabby, Founder of Happy Brew Kombucha


This time last year I was spending 2 months with my family in New Zealand on a small island just off the coast of Auckland. Waiheke is an amazing little place where it seems time has stood still and beauty continues to grow all around us.



Waiheke island and its beaches
Waiheke is a slice of heaven

This is by far one of the most perfect spots in the world to find tranquility, bond with my loved ones, and get inspired. And hell yeah, inspired I got!


Me and my family on my trip abroad
Family is everything

A family kombucha recipe

My dad has been brewing kombucha for quite some time, something I wasn't aware of till that visit. During my 2 months there not chasing Hilavili (nickname for Billy, our family's cat) or spending time with my little nieces and nephew, my dad taught me his secrets on how to brew the perfect kombucha. These incredibly powerful tips and tricks has become the backbone of success for our kombucha brews here in Manila.


My cat in New Zealand
Hilavili (also known to others as Billy)


My New Zealand family
Maya and Mio, cuteness overload!

My journey back to the Philippines

After spending such an amazing time there, going for long walks, and seeing my family it was time to head back to Manila. I traveled all the way from Auckland to Manila with a jar of SCOBY and starter liquid in my checked-in luggage and hoped for the best...


Airplane in the sky at sunset
My flight home from New Zealand to the Philippines

The moment I got back settled in, excitedly I pestered Jerry (my partner in crime) to buy the ingredients and get our brewing adventure started!


After a few broken jars, kombucha explosions (yes they are real!), and floor mopping, I was able to concoct an elixir that will soon be the pillar of Happy Brew Kombucha.


Kombucha explosion caused by over fermentation
Posted on reddit by u/elizaisling

Our kombucha Recipe

Here's my favorite recipe- I call it Waiheke brew as an homage to our original family recipe and the beautiful island they reside in. This recipe is one I cherish forever and will always be grateful for, and I hope you will enjoy it as much as we do!


How to brew kombucha at home:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 Liters distilled water

  • 4 Tsp loose black tea

  • 4 tea bags strawberry tea

  • 1 1/4 cup of sugar

  • 2 cups of Starter Liquid and a SCOBY


METHOD:

  1. Boil distilled water

  2. Steep tea using a french press

  3. Add sugar and dissolve

  4. Let it cool

  5. Pour in a jar and mix starter liquid

  6. Add the SCOBY

  7. Wait until fermentation is finished

Duration for brewing depends on factors such as temperature and how strong the starter liquid is. To be on the safe side, taste it after 4 days, and then use your better judgment. For kombucha to be fully fermented it should be tangy and just a little sweet.


Once it's ready, transfer into glass bottles; chill, and enjoy. You can also add your favorite fruit juice or chopped fruits.


Sad face by Mio when he is not allowed to drink kombucha
When you don't have anymore kombucha to drink...

Me and my sister Brianne in manila
Family is love regardless of the distance

Me and my sister
Sisterly love


At Happy Brew, we have a myriad of kombucha recipes, but this one will always have a special place in my heart, and my gut.


Thank you dad for this blessing and inspiration!




Happy kombucha brewing!

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page